Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Black Friday Ads are Stressing Me Out November 22, 2012

Here’s the thing.  I’ve NEVER gone to a Black Friday sale.  Our family tradition for the past many years has been to drop by a local shop owned by a friend of ours and shop around.  But that’s pretty much it.  No staying up all night.  No camping out in a long line.  No shoving down old ladies.  We don’t roll like that.

Even as an avid NPR listener, and a pro at fast-forwarding through commercials on TV, I still managed to hear and see plenty of ads.  I get emails and mailers from stores I shop at.  And I can’t fast forward through every ad on TV. There’s lots of yelling about the crazy deals that we’d be foolish to pass up on.

So it starts getting me a little stressed out.  I think this happens for two reasons.  Part of it is I’m not quite sure what I’m getting for everyone yet.  A few family members have wishlists set up, so that will help.  But I guess I’m starting to worry that I won’t know what to get for everyone!  And second, the ads make me worry that I’m missing out on the best sales of the season.

But!  I don’t think I’m going to let these ads get to me.  I’m trying not to sweat the small stuff.  So that means that if I only get a 30% off deal instead of a 50% off deal at Kohls, I’m not going to starve.  I’ve already “missed out” on a 30% deal at one of the stores I plan to shop at, but I have a feeling there will be a few more sales there before Christmas.  Plus, the “door busters” and other items that people get really excited about, i.e. electronics are not really anywhere on my shopping list.  If there was a specific big-ticket item I was looking for, and it was actually a really good deal, I might consider it.  But I don’t think I’d put in too big of an effort.  Maybe wait until the craziness slowed down.

So, as I said before, I’m not going to go to any of these wild Black Friday sales.  I’m just going to enjoy Friday with my family and do some window shopping at local small businesses.

What about you?  I know that Andrea is So Over Black Friday.  Sandy is also Anti-Black Friday.  And J$ knows of at least 7 things he’d rather do than go to Black Friday.

Anyone planning on picking up some specific deals tomorrow?  Camping out at a store?  Waiting until a reasonable hour and then strolling into the stores?  Just hoping to do some shopping online instead?  Getting ready for Cyber Monday?

No matter your plan, I hope you all had a Happy Thanksgiving!

 

4 Responses to “Black Friday Ads are Stressing Me Out”

  1. Revanche Says:

    Nah, I’ve taken a look at a couple things online because we need a power drill, but unless there’s anything I specifically need (rarely), I don’t usually bother about the sales. Or unless a friend wants company, in which case I might have gone to sit and talk with them but it’s been years since that’s been the case. Tomorrow I’ll probably just surf the web, as usual. I do need some business clothes but I’ve already ordered a few things to try. If I run into anything, then sure, I’ll order a few more things. Not likely to venture out for Black Friday specifically though.

  2. Allison Says:

    I’m planning to do a little shopping after I work, but I’m looking for clothes so like you said, if I don’t find what I want at these sales, I’ll still be able to buy them.

    In the past, I’ve gone out early for specific things – a vacuum, a sewing machine, a power drill, etc, but we don’t need anything big this year, so I’m not going to be bothered with fighting the crowds.

  3. Ya I totally feel you- I didn’t go out this morning and tried to avoid any spending at all but got snagged by some delicious deals via email and ended up getting a few new clothes and workout clothes for 30-60% off… blarg. Part of me wonders if they just hike up prices to mark ‘em back down… who knows!

  4. Sara Says:

    Living in NYC, shopping at department stores this time of year makes me want to have a panic attack even when it’s not Black Friday. I will be home shopping online in my pajamas ( (if at all) thank you very much. Did you see people got shot this year? Mess.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers