Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Another reason to opt-out October 11, 2007

Filed under: Personal Finance — Stephanie @ 11:03 am

[originally posted Saturday, September 15, 2007 8:50 AM]

I keep hearing about how if you don’t want to get all those useless credit card offers, you should call or go to optoutprescreen.com or call 1-888-5-OPTOUT (which is 1-888-567-8688). I’m thinking I’ve found another good reason: I got someone else’s mail. Basically, within one credit card offer, there were two offers. One for me, and one for someone in my same town. I called them to complain, and the guy said “oh, sometimes our machines can get a bit sticky”. He didn’t want the name of who else’s offer I got. “We send out plenty of mailers, she’ll be sure to get something else”. Yeah, that’s the excuse I heard!

In other news, I got an email from LazyMan in response to a comment I posted on his health blog. He saw that I’m looking to officially start a personal finance blog. He sent me a link to an advice list on how to start a personal finance blog. It references quite a few other blogs, and so it’s something I’m thinking I’ll be referencing a decent amount while working through my blog.

Okay, I swear I’m going to blog about my trip to Nicaragua soon!

 

One Response to “Another reason to opt-out”

  1. Lazy Man Says:

    It’s good to see you have a new site. Let me know if you need any help while you continue your set-up.


Leave a Reply

