Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Broken phones and mail-in rebates January 14, 2008

This morning I woke up to see the snow coming down pretty hard. So I went to my phone to see if maybe my supervisor had called to say work was canceled. No such luck. However, a piece of my phone hinge came off…and then the top disconnected from the bottom. So, on the day of a big snow storm, I’m without a phone.

After work, I went to the AT&T store (I’m on a family plan with my parents and sister). Luckily, I was “up for” an upgrade, so I wouldn’t have to pay for any extra plans or anything. I was going to get the free phone (free phone after mail in rebate), but the guy at the counter said I could get the “extras” for only $20 more after mail in rebate. That’s a carrying case (which I don’t really need), a memory card (I don’t use data on my phone) and a Bluetooth wireless headseat. I don’t have a car, so I don’t really have a need for Bluetooth. But what did I do? Go for the extras. I know I’m not supposed to, but I think I figured that if this is the phone I’m using for the next 2 years, maybe I will have a car, and so it would be nice to have a Bluetooth earpiece. I also figured that if I want to do any multitasking (for example cooking or cleaning around the house), it would be great to have both hands free and not have to cradle the phone to my ear with my shoulder. I think I decided that $20 isn’t that much money overall, and buying any of the pieces later would have cost me more.

Sad excuse, I know. I kept telling the guy that he’s trying to trick me. I know that you’re supposed to up-sell products with assorted add-ons. My congratulations to him for getting me to buy it.

Oh, and yes, I’m on a family plan still. I don’t actually pay for my cell phone service because of the plan setup. The deal was that I don’t pay my portion of the bill, but I have to pay for travel between Boston and home. I suppose that this is probably the more expensive option for me, but I think it’s fine right now.

I am only a little bit worried that the rebates that I’ve got to mail in are actually going to work. I figure I’ll make some photocopies of everything before I send it in. I’ll post when/if I get the rebates.

 

One Response to “Broken phones and mail-in rebates”

  1. Au Pair Says:

    very nice web site. My English is not so good, so I do not understandt it well, but it seems very good. Thanks


Leave a Reply

