Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Book club returns! February 12, 2008

Filed under: Books — Stephanie @ 10:33 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

After reading a few posts about books to read (at Well-heeled, with a mission and Let Us Go Then, You and I), I realized I should talk about the book club my friends and I do every month. About a year ago, one of my friends started up a book club. The idea was to get together with friends and discuss a book every month. They were all very cool books to read, though I only started in after the second book. Last year, the book club books were:

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream by Barack Obama

Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut

Inside the Magic Kingdom: Seven Keys to Disney’s Success by Tom Connellan

Born on a Blue Day: Inside the Extraordinary Mind of an Autistic Savant by Daniel Tammet

The Red Tent by Anita Diamant

Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

The World is Flat by Thomas L. Friedman

When we decided that “The World is Flat” was going to be our next book, it was just around the time that a lot of our friends (including the leader of our book club) were moving to different places (for new jobs, grad school, etc.), and that, combined with such a long book that no one was very excited about, basically made our book club fall apart.

I recently started it back up because it really was a fun way to meet new people and catch up with friend and find a way to make ourselves read more often!

This past month, we read On the Nature of Human Romantic Interaction by Karl Iagnemma . I think I’ll post a separate post about the book. I used to do that way back when, so why not bring that back as well!

Next month’s book choices are among these three:

Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain by Oliver Sacks (Hardcover, 400 pages)

Then We Came to the End: A Novel by Joshua Ferris (Hardcover (Paperback comes out Feb. 26th), 400 pages)

The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals by Michael Pollen (Paperback, 464 pages)

Do you have any suggestions on what to read?

[Edit:  In a close, 6-5 run, Then We Came to the End won over The Omnivore’s Dilemma.  I’ll probably still read  the other books, either on my own, or for a future book club meeting.  I’m also thinking about reading Michael Pollen’s new book, In Defense of Food.]

 

4 Responses to “Book club returns!”

  1. […] bookmarks tagged love in the time of cholera Book club returns! saved by 4 others     SakuraHaruno24 bookmarked on 02/16/08 | […]

  2. Tamela Rich Says:

    I’ve got a chapter-by-chapter discussion going on The World Is Flat on my blog for those interested: http://www.tamelarich.com

  3. Amber Says:

    Great books! well, not that I’ve read any of them, but they would make quite an interesting bookshelf, and most of them are on my to-read list. A few friends and I have a pretty casual book club, we’ve only read two so far, but I would recommend “You Shall Know Our Velocity” by Dave Eggers, which was our last book. It brought up a lot of very interesting questions for us!

  4. Look into reading “Freakonomics” and “the age of american unreason” as well.


Leave a Reply

