Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Trying out social bookmarking March 9, 2008

Filed under: General Blogging — Stephanie @ 2:14 pm
Tags: , , ,

I already share interesting posts with my friends on Google Reader using the share button (or the email button if it’s for someone in particular), but I’ve never really gotten into Digg or other social bookmarking sites. I don’t think that my blog is very popular (yet?) and so it doesn’t seem like a very necessary step for me at this point, but I figured I’d try it out to see how it works. I went through the wordpress.com FAQ page and found a site that instructs how to manually add the assorted bookmarking links if you are hosted at wordpress.com (and how to have it add automatically if you host your own wordpress blog).

So I tried it for my last post, and I’m going to try it again on this post. I welcome advice or suggestions about doing this. Is it considered tacky? Or good blogging practice? I have to admit, I haven’t heard of a few of the sites that I have included in the list. There’s even a larger list of many of those sites here. As a blogger, do I have to be a member of all these groups for you to bookmark the sites? I am a member of Technorati (and that’s not even one of the options below, hmmm). And how do I know when a post or site has been bookmarked at one of these sites?

So many questions. I just wanted to try it out. Let me know if the comments if this should stay or go!

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

 

4 Responses to “Trying out social bookmarking”

  1. you don’t need to be a member for the links to be effective. your readers do, though.

    technorati isn’t on the list because it’s not the same type of bookmarking. technorati allows people to bookmark your blog, not individual articles. That sort of link belongs on your blog’s home page, or in a widget.

  2. Kendall Says:

    It doesn’t seem tacky to me . . . it’s bound to get you more traffic. Which is, in general, I think a good thing. I’m sure it’s most bloggers’ goal, anyway. I do notice that at least in google reader, your posts always have ‘add to del.icio.us’ and digg and stumble, which I find strange, since it doesn’t seem to be on your actual blog page. Maybe that’s a wordpress-reader thing?

  3. Stephanie Says:

    Thanks, SunBurntKamel, for the explanation (and the information on how to do this).
    And Kendall, I think that IS a wordpress thing, something I clicked in an option list…so maybe I don’t need the buttons as long as people read my blog on a reader…

    It is a cool way to (maybe) get more people to read my blog. I suppose many people have bookmarklets that let them digg or add to del.icio.us a site or post as they see fit…I may or may not add these to later posts.

  4. unnikuttan Says:

    i love social bookmarking. What are your experiences? I am new to it.


Leave a Reply

