Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Getting excited about housewares and decorating April 13, 2008

Filed under: General Blogging,Personal Finance — Stephanie @ 9:13 pm
Tags: ,

Sometime after I graduated, I start to get really excited about getting and using assorted housewares. My first Christmas after college, I asked for mixing bowls and a liquid measuring cup. For my last birthday, I requested an electric griddle. I’ve been reading decorating and housewares related blogs, like CasaSugar, decor8, Hostess with the Mostess, and Apartment Therapy (and the other blogs Apartment Therapy has), and watching shows like Small Space Big Style, Decorating Cents, and Design on a Dime. I some day hope to have the big fancy stand mixer (yes, just like they say in the oft referenced Stuff White People Like). In the meantime, I am using the stand mixer that I inherited from my grandmother.

Every once in a while, I get this sudden urge to decorate, to cook using high-tech tools, to buy useful and/or decorative things…for example, after reading a post about some modern-looking fabrics, I realized I really wanted to buy some cute towels for the kitchen and bathroom, all coordinated and everything. Sure, some of it is that commercial, consumer push to have the next best thing. But I’m thinking that I’ve gotten to a certain age where I know it’s time to be a grownup. I guess I am, to some extent. I have a degree, I have a job, I’m paying bills, making meals, cleaning around the house…but I think I’m in some sort of strange transition still. I think I find myself acting the part of someone more grown up than I actually am, mostly because I realize I need to be mature at this point in my life. I suppose the lighter side of all these housewares and decorating urges is that I’m looking forward to having my own place, where I can decorate it however I want, and have all the things I might need to keep my house in working order.  I’ve been trying to be frugal and not buy anything extra, but at some point, I really just want to start buying all the pretty, fancier, more expensive, less necessary items that you find in a house.

I just wonder…is all this want for these things bad?  I don’t think so.  It’s a sign I’m getting older, thinking about my future.  Maybe that’s it.  Who knows?

 

4 Responses to “Getting excited about housewares and decorating”

  1. decor8holly Says:

    It’s not bad, it’s a sign of nesting… You’re growing up and away from that camper mentality of youth when you can sleep anywhere and live anywhere without thinking twice about it. Then one day you wake up and boom! you suddenly desire your own space, things, and you want it to suit your personality. It’s like when you were little and one day just waking up and wanting to pick out your own clothes vs. just accepting what your parents gave you to wear.

    These phases all hit us at different ages, for me I desired to decorate when I was 6 years old or so, I never wanted my mother’s input — my room was always a big deal to me and as I matured that never changed even through school and beyond. When I lived with roommates I was always headstrong about the decorating part of living together and how it should look and I was lucky because the girls I lived with over the years happily gave me the lead role because they didn’t care at all about decorating (and we were the same age). Years later I learned that they own their own homes and they totally are into decorating. It hits everyone at different stages and funny as it sounds, some people never pay attention to decorating or things like cute towels for the kitchen or bath.

    Though I’ve always wanted say in how my decor looked since a very early age, I noticed what did change is the attention to detail. As I get older things like fabric weight and thread count matter, as does whether or not an item is well made and where it is produced and what materials are used. Also quality over amount I can buy for less $. I tend to lean on saving up for what I really want vs. dropping $10 or $20 here and there for things that I don’t really like.

    I think it’s great that you asked this question, I hope your other readers will chime in with their thoughts too.

    Lots of luck as you continue to explore!

    Holly

  2. seo Says:

    nice to read your post.. looking forward to read more. Thx

  3. Stephanie Says:

    Holly,
    Thanks for your help/advice! I think I go back and forth between thinking I should spend a lot on something, and thinking I should go cheap on things…for housewares, clothes, etc. I’m still unwilling to spend a lot on clothes, and I haven’t bought anything big for my place yet (except my bedroom…headboard, two dressers, and a bedside table…which I bought on sale at Target).
    We’ll see what happens after we have a new lease…either at our current place or at a new apartment.

  4. […] much self restraint, I’d have so much more stuff!  Basically, I want cute things to wear and decorate my house with.  But I’m thinking the housewares can wait until I have a place of my own.  The longer I […]


Leave a Reply

