Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

The good thing about e-filing is… April 16, 2008

Filed under: Personal Finance — Stephanie @ 6:44 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

You get your refund a lot faster!

I used TurboTax to prepare and file my taxes. Well, actually, I e-filed my state taxes, but had to mail my federal taxes (I had to include a document from work). But the awesome part is that because I e-filed, and opted for direct deposit, I already got my state refund!

Other awesome things related to taxes (if you can say there are awesome things about taxes…) is that there are some good tax breaks/deductions (I can’t remember which…) that I was able to take advantage of. They allow deductions for rent you pay, cost of commuting (subway passes and/or EZ-Pass), and for interest on your student loans. Those were the big three that kicked in for me, and granted there are limits for your deductions, but it made me happy to see at least some effect.

That’s all I got for today. Hopefully you’ve all filed your taxes by now…and if you haven’t, you’ve filed an extension.

 

Leave a Reply

