Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Gas gas gas! October 1, 2008

Filed under: Personal Finance — Stephanie @ 10:35 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Today I did something that I’ve never done before.  It may come as a surprise…but today I pumped my own gas.  For the first time.  Ever.

Yes.  It’s true.  Now, I’m not a spoiled or lazy limo rider or something like that.  I got my license in New Jersey, one of the few states where you can’t pump your own gas.  And I rarely drove in high school anyways.  Take four years living in dorms in Cambridge, and two years taking public transportation, and you have a girl who didn’t really need a car.  And whenever I did need gas (borrowing my boyfriend’s car on occasion), the nearby station had full serve (and the cheapest gas in the area), so I didn’t have to pump my gas there, either.

And so today came…I was halfway through my drive to work when I noticed “the light” go on.  You know, the warning light that says that you only have a gallon or two left in your tank.  By the time I got to work, the needle on the gas gauge was nearing the zero line.  I hopped online briefly and took a look at GasBuddy to see what the prices were for gas in the area.  And since the nearest gas station to work was a little pricey, I bought a few gallons to make sure I got home, and rode the rest of the way home feeling a lot safer knowing I wasn’t running on fumes.

The funny/sad part is, I probably could have made it home…or at least known if I could make it home, had I read a little further into my owners manual.  When looking at the manual to see what gas level the warning light signified, I saw something about other information besides speed, miles, etc. on my dashboard.  I figured that was only an option for the “fancier” version of my car.  But nope, it turns out my car has all sorts of information!  While one meter shows the odometer and a few “trip” odometers, the other meter shows, among other things, the time, the outside temperature, instantaneous mpg, average mpg, and, the one that would have helped me out:  miles left on the tank.  Yep, they have an estimate for how much farther I could have gone.  But I didn’t try that out until after I’d gotten some gas.  Well, I guess now I know for future reference.

The mpg information is pretty cool, too.  The instantaneous mpg value fluctuates quite a bit, which makes sense (based on your speed, incline, gear, etc.).  The coolest moment was when I saw the reading go up to 99 mpg.  Yep.  It was pretty cool.  It was only on there for a moment, but I was kind of excited about that.  And I’m glad to report that my average mpg is above 30.  I don’t remember exactly what it’s at, but it’s pretty good.

So, there you have it.  I’ve finally pumped gas.  It’s really not hard at all!  I’ll keep you posted about the gas mileage I’m getting!

 

5 Responses to “Gas gas gas!”

  1. Kristine Says:

    I’m from New Jersey as well, but I learned to drive in California, where you can pump your own gas. Even so, the Jersey Girl in me HATES to pump my own gas. Always have! I almost always take my car to this gas station by my house because it’s full service.

  2. supafrantastic Says:

    Me too, me too! I’m from Oregon originally, so four years ago, in Southern California, I had to help my best friend (who came down from Oregon for Thanksgiving) pump some gas.

    We stood there for 10 minutes, no joke, trying to figure out how to get the nozzle to stay in the damn hole until my roommate, a Californian born and bred, just happened to ride up behind us, on HER way home for Thanksgiving Break. Thank goodness.

    Incidentally what car do you have? I would LOVE a car that tells me my mpg. While I was on Zipcar for a little while, the Honda Civic Hybrids would do that. I’m just so hooked on it now, but now I’ve got a little 1991 clunker, hehehe.

  3. Shtinkykat Says:

    Full service gas stations still exist??? (I’m a Californian. He he.)

  4. Stephanie Says:

    Kristine and Supafrantastic: Don’t worry, we can continue to blame our disdain for pumping gas on our home state for as long as possible!

    Supafrantastic: I just bought a 2009 Toyota Corolla.

    Shtinkykat: Yep. The gas station closest to my house tends to have the cheapest gas AND is full service. My roommate doesn’t trust the place (he figures it can’t be good gas if it’s cheaper including full service)

  5. […] Tags: cars, fuel prices, gas, gas prices, gasbuddy, gasoline, mileage, mpg So, the other night, I told you about learning more about my car (including how to pump gas).  I actually got linked to by a […]


Leave a Reply

