Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Feels like fall October 8, 2008

Filed under: Boston,Personal Finance — Stephanie @ 10:19 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m pretty sure that it’s starting to really feel like fall up here in Boston.  We might have to turn on our heat soon!  I’m dreading that, so in the meantime, I’ll just bundle up with cozy layers, drink hot tea and cocoa, and sit by my little space heater.  It seems a lot more efficient to just heat the one room where you’re going to be (if the door is closed) with a space heater than to try to heat the whole house.  And maybe this year we’ll try insulating our windows.

You see, we live in the top two floors of a 3 story house.  So we would hope that the whole “heat rises” fact would help us out a bit.  But with a house that is about 100 years old, you don’t always have the best insulation from the cold.

We all have our own ways of keeping warm while not breaking the bank or killing the planet.  Mrs. Micah’s best defense against the cold is a pair of dry socks.  And Trent at the Simple Dollar has quite a few tips.  My best options have been to bundle up.  Layers, layers, layers!

What’s your favortie way to stay warm?

 

4 Responses to “Feels like fall”

  1. Money Maus Says:

    That’s my favorite way to stay warm – a space heater in the bedroom with some tea/hot chocolate and LOTS of comfy blankets! 🙂 (And, preferably, someone to snuggle with.)

  2. Chuck Says:

    Can’t beat layers and a thick blanket. Space heaters are terrific though!

  3. Stephanie Says:

    Money Maus: I agree on the snuggling factor! 🙂

    Chuck: glad you found my blog!

  4. Mrs. Micah Says:

    Fortunately, they’ve turned on our radiators and in this weather a little radiator goes a long way. I think the neighbors may be running them more than we are…warming the whole building. 🙂


Leave a Reply

