Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Went a little spend crazy December 9, 2008

Filed under: Personal Finance — Stephanie @ 11:55 pm
Tags: ,

So, I’m always trying to avoid spending money if at all possible. But I think the one problem with that is that I’ll spend a lot of money all at once to make up for that. I don’t think it’s like diets, where you try to be good and then follow up by eating half a chocolate cake and a pint of Ben & Jerry’s. I think it’s just that I rarely spend money on things for myself, which means that there are large gaps in my wardrobe where clothes that I got 5 years ago aren’t quite fitting the bill.  So I spend.  I try to get good deals. But let’s go on a journey through my spending this past Sunday.

The purpose of the shopping trip: get something to wear to my boyfriend’s company holiday party. I don’t want to look too young (one of the women I talked to Sunday thought I was closer to 18…even though I’m actually 24!), so I wanted to look sophisticated, mature, and beautiful. And all the dresses I have in my closet may have fit me back in my sophomore year of college…but they just aren’t quite zipping up the way they used to!

I ran into a friend at the mall, who told me all the things I need to dress up for an event like this.  The dress, the shoes, the clutch, the pashmina…I wasn’t even sure I knew what all those things were!

I went to plenty of stores, and I have to admit, I was getting pretty darn sick of trying on dresses.  Though most of the ones I tried on “fit”, they just did not look good on me.  I also seemed to be grabbing dresses that appealed to the “younger me”.  And I think I’ve discovered that it’s difficult to get a good idea of what the dress looks like.  And it seems that some stores seem to know that there are people like me.

I finally went to Ann Taylor Loft, where something actually looked good on me.  But I have to say, I think it really helped that the employees there knew what they were doing, and how to sell things.  Well, that’s the cynical side of me talking.  The grateful side of me appreciated their help.  They gave me their opinion on dresses, and helped me pair jewelry with the dress.  They showed me awesome shoes that made the dresses look better.  And yep, I bought a dress (and those shoes…gosh they’re good salespeople).  And silly me, I let them trick/convince/guilt me into getting their store credit card for a little extra discount.  I know, it’s a hit to my credit score.  But oh well, what’s done is done.  I did get compliments on the dress from other customers, rather than just the salespeople, which made me a bit more confident in my purchases.

And rather than buy accessories at Ann Taylor Loft, I headed to other shops in the mall to buy all the other things you’re supposed to wear at a fancy event.  I picked up a clutch and some slightly outrageous earrings at Aldo, and bought a wrap for just $10 at H&M (rather than the $40-50 at other stores!  deal!).  It helped that I didn’t get a real pashmina…100% rayon works for me, if it looks the same!

So, I spent over $100.  Yeah.  I’m going to use the excuse that I don’t really have any of those things, and I need more mature and sharper looking items to wear…I can’t keep dressing like a college or high school kid forever. 

So, there’s my shopping confession.  And I haven’t even started my Christmas shopping!

 

4 Responses to “Went a little spend crazy”

  1. Money Maus Says:

    Oops! But hey – it happens! 🙂

  2. QL girl Says:

    Did you get the 40% discount? (If not try and get a price adjustment)

    Either way, that’s not bad if you think about it….dress, shoes, pashmina, etc….around $100? Most people would probably spend the $100 just on a dress. Plus the dress doesn’t look uber trendy, so you’ll probably get good use out of it!

  3. Money Maus Says:

    BTW – My company’s holiday party is this weekend and I recently purchased a dress and a clutch for $150 total. (I already have the shoes and a pashmina – from a trip to India where I bought them for $2 each in every single possible color!)

    Enjoy – I have similar gaps in my wardrobe as well. Now we both have good items to use again & again! 🙂

  4. Stephanie Says:

    Thanks for your comments! And yes QL girl, I got the sale price. That was a pleasant surprise!
    And it does help that these are all pretty neutral and versatile pieces that I can wear often!


Leave a Reply

