Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

I joined a gym! January 31, 2009

Filed under: Fitness — Stephanie @ 7:04 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Well, I did it.  It was a bit of a guilt trip, and good salesmanship on their part, but I joined a gym.  I was tired of being all talk and (literally!) no action.

I actually still haven’t gone for my trial run of the place (that I mentioned last time), but today was the last day of waiving the joining fee.  And they promised I could cancel within 15 days if I decide it’s not for me.

The membership guy went over all the costs, and combining the discounted fees (thanks to my company) and the supposed $150 reimbursement I get from my health insurance company (according to the membership guy), I’m getting a really good deal.  Not including the reimbursement, I’m paying $27 per month.  Including the reimbursement, that rounds out to $14.50 per month.  I’m figuring that’s probably the best deal I’m going to get anywhere.  And now that I’ve signed up, the fact that I’m paying for membership will definitely get me going there (I’ve got to get my money’s worth!)

Most of the people at my company that work at other locations use gyms that are at their facility, and you only have to pay a small fee each month to use it.  But our specific facility doesn’t have one, so that’s part of the reason there’s a discount to go to a nearby gym (its a Boston Sports Club).  Luckily, there’s also a BSC near my house, so I can go there at non-peak hours (which, awesomely, includes weekends).  So I can work out near work during the week and near home on the weekends.

Have any of you used Boston Sports Club (or any of their related gyms in Washington D.C., NYC, or Philly)?  Do you like it there?  What do you recommend as good pieces of equipment/classes?  I’m hoping that when I go in for my trial run, they’ll show me what there is to do and how to use the equipment.  Because I’m pretty much hopeless when it comes to knowing how to use exercise equipment.

I’m excited.  It’s another step towards being healthier (one of my goals).  I’m not sure if I need to get special workout clothes or something like that (I’ve got a few sports bras, a techwick shirt, and some “yoga” pants), though I’m guessing I should download some podcasts or something to listen to while I’m working out.  Any recommended music or podcasts ideal for exercise?

And for my other goals:  still making progress on my networth, started changing my portfolio, and my sister helped me clean my room (though it’s already a horrible mess….)

Woo!  I also walked a lot yesterday and today, so I’m getting on track!

 

3 Responses to “I joined a gym!”

  1. shtinkykat Says:

    Woo hoo for getting fit physically as well as financially. Your 2009 sounds like it’s off to a good start. Keep it up.

  2. If they will give you a free personal training session, ask that it be on the typical weight machines. They can show you how to use them (and there are usually directions printed on the machine itself), and give you tips on how to get the most out of the machine.

    As a beginner, you might want to use dumbells. They won’t isolate the muscles as much.

    Good classes to take are dance classes (you’ll feel so awkward about getting the moves right that you will barely know you’re exercising), yoga classes (strengthening & stretching, mmmm), and I have a friend who swears by cycling classes.

  3. […] gym, health, XpressLine I went to the gym for the first time on Thursday evening.  Signed my paperwork, got my […]


Leave a Reply

