Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Teach Me Tuesday: Quantum Dots July 21, 2009

Filed under: Science — Stephanie @ 10:19 pm
Tags: , , ,

While I doubt that it could actually become a “trending topic” in Twitter, I’ve decided to start a trend of my own.  I’ve decided that on any given Tuesday, I’ll try to have (on both Twitter and my blog) a “Teach Me Tuesday”.  I’ll mention a topic that interests me (or even a topic suggested by a reader), and discuss what I know.  But really, the goal of these posts/tweets is that I’d love to get other people’s input on the topic.  I’m guessing there are people out there who know a heck of a lot about a subject (or at least more than I know).  I encourage you to try the same (on Twitter) to see what awesome information and guidance your twitter followers (and the twitterverse at large) can provide for you.  Tweet with #teachmetuesday!

So here’s my quick intro to quantum dots:

For the basics about quantum dots, the wikipedia article is a pretty good start.  Mostly what I know is that I may have made some in a lab class during undergrad, and I thought they were pretty cool.  I also attended a presentation once about them from an employee from QD Vision, where I learned more about the possible applications of quantum dots.

What I’m looking for in this (and future posts for Teach Me Tuesday) is what you (the blog-reading public) to provide me (and others that drop by my blog) with your interesting facts, favorite links, or excellent explanations of the topic.  So this week, comment with those ideas about Quantum Dots!  Tell me what’s new and exciting in quantum dot research and utilization, or what you find most impressive/fascinating/scary about them!

#teachmetuesday

 

One Response to “Teach Me Tuesday: Quantum Dots”

  1. Jason Tyne Says:

    I real the Fabric of the Cosmos, but this is above my head. You should teach me!


Leave a Reply

