Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Should I work with a personal trainer? August 29, 2009

Filed under: Fitness,Personal Finance — Stephanie @ 12:31 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve been trying to go to the gym more often.  Something about me getting back up towards my “working at a food science company where I taste test my work” weight made me feel like I should stop being lazy.

Last week and this week I ramped up what I was doing on the weights circuit because one of the employees there suggested it.  It definitely makes a difference!  Going around the circuit once is pretty hard, but going twice around is quite the workout!

That same employee was there again this week, and he noted that I look incredibly bored when working out.  I didn’t realize you had to be excited when you’re working out!  I laugh sometimes when I’m exercising, but it’s because I’m listening to really funny podcasts like “The Bugle” and “Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me“.  I think I also do a little dance when I’m going from one machine to the next, depending on how catchy the music on the loudspeakers is.

Anyway, at this point, he suggested that I consider personal training.  He points out that it’s a workout based on your specific needs, and it will keep me motivated and excited, and prevent me from just getting in a rut.  All valid points.  I’ll admit, he did a good job selling the idea of getting a personal trainer.  And I’m thinking it might be a good idea, too!

A friend of mine has been going to a personal trainer, and she’s seen some great results!  She’s training to walk 750 miles up California to raise diabetes awareness.  I’m thoroughly impressed with her!  She’s been chronicling her training in the blog at her website.

I definitely have to consider the cost/benefit analysis of this.  As the trainer said, “you’re investing in yourself”.  I think that’s true.  I’m thinking of starting with their Try Pack program, with 3 training sessions, where you can apply that money used towards future training programs.  And if I decide I hate it, I don’t have to continue.  And I’ve just spent the $79 towards getting some good ideas for my future workouts, and maybe getting a bit more motivated.  I really think that since I’m not very knowledgeable about the gym and all the sorts of exercises one can do there, that this will be a good chance to just learn more.  So we’ll see.

What do you think?  Have any of you done personal training?  Do you think it’s too expensive compared to what you get out of it?  I welcome your insight and advice!

 

7 Responses to “Should I work with a personal trainer?”

  1. When I was in college, you could sign up to get a student personal trainer (someone majoring in kinesiology) for a ridiculously low amount. I had one for a semester, and it was really great while I had her. But, once the semester was over, I stopped working out again. Expensive is such a relative term; if you can afford it out of your discretionary funds, I’d go for it, especially since you only have to buy them a few sessions at a time.

  2. Melissa Says:

    First off, thanks for the shout out!! It’s great to have awesome friends spreading word of the Walk.

    Now down to business…

    I completely agree with what you (& the trainer) said – It’s investing in your fitness. I’ve had three trainers at three different stages in life (HS, college & now training for the Walk), and I’ve always been happy with the discipline that they’ve promoted in me. I don’t mind working out once I’m at the gym, but I can & will find every excuse under the sun to justify not going. It has really helped having someone else invested in my health and my fitness decisions.

    Beyond that, the biggest benefit for me has been having someone pushing me harder than I ever would go on my own. Tara routinely kicks my butt and has me working through the exhaustion (“as long as there are no sharp shooting pains, you’re good – work through those tired muscles”). Just today, I clocked 657 calories burned in our hour session. That’s a lot. More importantly, that’s a lot more than I would do on my own. I know the same routines, I can work through them on my own, but it still wouldn’t be the same. It’s very powerful having someone there believing in you, telling you that you can do it, talking you through the exhaustion. Safely.

    That being said, it’s a very personal decision. Personal Training could easily quadruple your monthly gym costs. Depending on your personal priorities, that money may be better spent elsewhere. Above all, I think we need to determine (& articulate) our health goals. Then we can work out a plan to achieve them. My plan happens to include regular sessions with Tara.

    When I began the great adventure of the Walk (http://www.cawellnesswalk.com ), I decided to take control of my health & make a positive change in my life. After several weeks, I made the further decision that as long as I can afford a trainer, I am going to make sure that I work one into my budget. Health is very important to me, and I want to make sure that I am being the best version of myself. Having a trainer helps me do that.

    Finally, just as the decision to get a trainer is very personal, the choice of which trainer is equally personal. I fully suggest trying several trainers before making a long-term commitment. Styles, approaches and skill levels can vary quite dramatically, not to mention personalities. I wanted a partner in achieving my health goals, and after testing the waters with another trainer, I went with Tara and couldn’t be happier.

    Good luck in the decision & I hope you find your Tara!

  3. I encourage you to get a personal trainer. Not only you will be given customized workout programs, but you too will benefit from the care and attention that a personal trainer provides one-on-one.

  4. Olu Says:

    I think the idea of getting a personal trainer to manage and motivate progress in physical fitness can [sort of] be compared to getting a personal accountant to manage and motivate progress financially.
    Like when you decided to manage your finances, you were motivated by personal interest and so that kept you researching methods and blogs and sites and books. In the same way, if you are unable to motivate yourself to keep working out or need variety, then a personal trainer will be really useful. You might first want to start by looking into changing your workout routine, working out with a partner so you can both motivate each other, checking out fitness/training sites (strands.com for instance) etc.
    At the end of the day though, as Lost Goat said if you can afford one (much like a personal accountant), then you save the time spent on researching resources as you’re paying someone to do that for you.

  5. […] Tags: california, diabetes, wellness If you’ve been following me on twitter, or you read my post about personal trainers, then you might have heard about CA Wellness Walk.  My very good friend, Melissa Williams, is the […]

  6. D Says:

    How often per wk do you work out with your personal trainer?


Leave a Reply

