Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Rock your Financial Life, and other adventures of last week September 1, 2009

Filed under: Boston,Personal Finance — Stephanie @ 8:08 pm
Tags: , ,

I’m began writing this on Monday after staying home all day from work.  I seem to have gotten a horrible cold this weekend.  I’m wondering if it has anything to do with the fact that I was out and about a lot more than I have been in quite some time.  Hopefully not.  I like getting back into spending time out with friends and meeting new people and trying new activities.  So let’s recap the fun times that were had last week.

After Tuesday’s workout at the gym, I had an event filled Wednesday night.

We went out to dinner to say farewell to our summer interns.  On the downside, it was sad to say goodbye to our intern, since he is pretty awesome as interns go.  Hardworking but friendly.  On the upside, the dinner was free!  Hooray free food!  I got a salad, but balanced that nicely with a small chocolatey dessert. 🙂

After that, I drove into the city to go to Rock your Financial Life.  I had won tickets to go after entering a raffle at the Ice Cream Showdown the previous Saturday.  That ice cream event was awesome.  They were raising money for a scholarship, and you paid $2 admission for all you could eat ice cream, from local companies like Christina’s, J.P. Licks, Coops Microcreamery, Toscanini’s, B. Good, Chilly Cow, and Wheeler’s Frozen Desserts.  AMAZING.  These companies provided tastes of some really tasty and sometimes exotic flavors of ice cream.  I think I was in heaven 🙂

Anyway, I decided that since personal finance is a hobby/interest of mine, and I had free tickets, I figured it would be good to go to this event.  I showed up a bit late, since I had dinner up near work first, but the event was still going strong.  It was cleverly done; the event was held at Hard Rock Cafe, so the theme combined Rock and Roll with Money.  I got to talk to to the president and founder of Lantern Financial, Lisa Peterson, as well as the VP, Leah Hanson.  I met Leah’s family, too.  Just happened to sit at their table!  It was fun, and I won some cute cards made by Shortcake Scraps.  It was also fun because Lisa and Leah had found my blog after I started following them on twitter…they said, “you’re stephtheblogger!”  That pretty much made my day.

Thursday night was a young alumni event for recent MIT grads over at Alibi, the bar at the Liberty Hotel.  The Liberty Hotel is actually the former Charles Street Jail, but was converted recently and is now a pretty swank hotel.  It was good catching up with old classmates as well as meeting new people!

Friday night was my friends’ wedding reception.  They’d gotten married a while ago, but hadn’t had the time to celebrate it with all their friends.  So there we were!  It was very lovely and it was good to see more friends there!

So, look at all those places where I could have caught a cold!  Seriously though, I really like going out, and am glad that I am (hopefully) back into spending time with others, and not being so lazy staying home all the time!

 

One Response to “Rock your Financial Life, and other adventures of last week”

  1. Hi there! Thanks for mentioning my cards. I’m so glad that you enjoyed them! 🙂 Hope you get over your cold soon – take care!

    Candice
    ShortcakeScraps

    http://candicecruz.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

