Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Tracking no-spend days with Twitter January 4, 2010

Filed under: Personal Finance — Stephanie @ 11:14 pm

Well, it’s 2010!  And we’re all coming out with our resolutions, our big plans for the new year.  I’m still working out what my short-term and long-term goals are going to be, but in the meantime, I decided to start small by working on no-spend days.  I like the fact that my desire to finish a day without spending money can prevent me from spending money unnecessarily.  And I’ve heard that it’s easier to stick to your goals if you must be accountable to others.  And so I’ll be tweeting about my daily expenses.

My rules of the game are:

-Anything I pay for in cash, credit card, or even check will be included

-Excluded are expenses via transfer:  Rent, utilities, contributions to retirement/savings accounts.  This is because they’re automatic and are mostly unchanging

I already avoided spending money the other day, even though there were a few things I wanted to buy.  That seems like a good help.  So, I’ll be tweeting about my expenses, either at the end of the day saying that I made it through the day, or during the day if I fail at my goal.  Follow me if you’d like, @stephtheblogger.

What do you think?  A good idea?  Or oversharing?

 

5 Responses to “Tracking no-spend days with Twitter”

  1. It’s a good way to police yourself “gee what will my readers think, spending cash on THAT?”

    haha 🙂

  2. Money Man Says:

    Sounds like a very good plan. 🙂

  3. Teri Centner Says:

    You could just use Blippy…

  4. Lillie Says:

    Please share your progress. Seems like an exciting challenge, but one that can be done with proper planning.

    • Stephanie Says:

      I’ve stopped tweeting about expenses because I realized that people might not care too much…but I’ve been avoiding spending money a lot by bringing lunches. I tend not to spend much money during the week except for food, so cutting down on lunch expenses has really helped.


Leave a Reply

