Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Blame the Parents April 14, 2010

Filed under: Personal Finance — Stephanie @ 9:49 pm
Tags: ,

Like it or not, we often end up a lot like our parents.  Whether it’s the genes they gave us, or the way they raised us, we’ve been molded into miniature bizarro versions of them.  To be honest, I’m 100% okay with that.

I love my parents.  Yep, it’s true.  I love my sisters, too, for that matter.  I’m not going to get all gushy about this.  Just wanted to lay that out there.  And here’s the thing:  my sisters and I are alike in a lot of ways.  But there are also a lot of differences between us (and compared to our parents, too).  But I think my parents have shaped my goals, views, and ideas, whether they meant to or not.

I’ve always been a saver.  In fact, when we were younger, I was the only one of the 3 girls that had extra money lying around in our piggy banks.  Allowance, gift money, etc. all went into my money jar.  I think my mother was the first personal finance guru I listened to.  She often picked up books on personal finance, investing, and similar topics from the library (and still does!).  And both my parents drilled those basic tenets of personal finance into my head.  Pay yourself first.  Save at least 10%.  Spend less than you earn.  They also led by example, saving and investing money for the long term, avoiding extravagance.  My mom gave me her copy of The Wealthy Barber to read, which started me on my way towards my own personal finance obsession!  And just today, she told me about a new personal finance book she was reading, and shared her advice.

This, of course, is only a small part of the ways that my parents shared their values with my sisters and me.   But I don’t want to get too sappy here!  So I’ll stop.

Where did you get your personal finance start?  Your parents?  A friend?  Your own realization that you need to change your finances?  What got you going down the path to financial freedom?

 

4 Responses to “Blame the Parents”

  1. Money Maus Says:

    Yay! Most of my personal finance savvy also came from my parents. It started with them, ever since I started babysitting/getting an allowance, then a class in high school that gave me my first budgeting lesson and I’ve been hooked ever since! Though the next big culprit was my Personal Finance course I took as part of my degree my senior year of college 🙂

    I’m really glad my parents instilled those values in me all my life, and have made good monetary decisions themselves!

  2. Kendall Says:

    I got my personal finance start from you, Steph! Well, you and other friends and the realization that my parents aren’t doing so well in the lack of debt area. I am even renting a cheaper apartment than I could just because I know that the more I save now, the better I will be doing when I retire.

  3. Bob Says:

    Heh I feel in similar way, always been the one who lend money to others, always kept cash on hand.
    Part of this came from my parents but most through books (yeah, even Kiyosaki) and my own realization.

  4. Patti Says:

    My mom was a prime example of what not to do. I graduated from college last spring and I didn’t get a wake up call until this past fall. All my life I was good at spending money. When I started living on my own I realized that I need to save money for the future. I think it just happened one day. I was looking online about a random topic and just ended up on a pf blog. Since then I can’t stop reading about ways to save, spend less, and invest. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

