Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Reading Books: My Review of “Generation Earn” January 22, 2011

Filed under: Books,Careers,Personal Finance — Stephanie @ 1:19 pm

I first heard about Generation Earn when I read about it on Wellheeled’s blog.  As is usual when I hear about a good book, I add it to my library reserve list. I was around 119 on the waiting list, so I forgot about it for a while. So, it was a pleasant surprise when I finally got to the top of the list.

I liked this book a lot. It contains a lot of information and advice, and works well for personal finance novices as well as people like me who have already started along the personal finance path. The book acted as both a refresher, reminding me to check up on my finances, as well as an eye opener, presenting ideas I hadn’t really thought about.

The book walks you through the major steps required to establish your finances.  Each chapter builds upon what you learned in the previous chapter.  The reader is guided through important decisions in a young adult’s life.

The book is really well written and very useful. She uses real life examples, not just imagined case studies. Between the non-fiction scenarios and the pages of cited materials, it is apparent that the author did a lot of research for this book. I appreciate this, because I cringe when people use statistics without backing them up.    The author’s style is very helpful and thought-provoking. You learn how to begin your way as part of Generation Earn (her more descriptive title than Gen Y, and more complimentary description than Generation Debt).

She has a very bright view on how the current 20 and 30 somethings can grow and succeed, and believes that we will have a positive impact on society.

I recommend this book for anyone in their 20s or 30s, especially those who are just starting out.  There’s a lot of great advice, and, with short “Quick Tips” peppered throughout the book, you’ll definitely learn something new!

So, go out and read it!  And let me know what you thought of it!

 

2 Responses to “Reading Books: My Review of “Generation Earn””

  1. Eric Says:

    I’m really intrigued by the idea of this book, and it’s undoubtedly going on my to-read list (which happens to be extremely long). But I have a feeling eventually this book will get bumped up the front of the list after I exhaust some more fiction. By the sound of it, I should be reserving it now in hopes of getting it before the end of this decade! =P I’ll be sure to let you know what I think of it.

  2. Great review of Generation Earn – I am going to add it to my must read list too! I like that it focuses on the 20 to 30 year old ages group – any other books that you can recommend?


Leave a Reply

