Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Breakfast for my Valentine February 13, 2011

Filed under: Food — Stephanie @ 11:26 am
Tags: , , ,

There’s something awesome about breakfast.  Besides it being the first (and most important!) meal of the day, the one you “break the fast” with, it seems to have some incredibly tasty options.  It’s basically like you wake up and get to eat anything you want.  You’ve got all those savory omelets and breakfast sandwiches.  And with things like French toast, waffles, and pancakes, you’re getting dessert first thing in the morning!

Back when we lived in Buffalo, my family and I would occasionally go to The Original Pancake House (these locations).  It was a delicious treat to go.  And we almost always got one of their specialties.  I was always a big fan of their Apple Pancakes.  Delicious, puffed dough with apples, cinnamon, sugar, and of course, a little syrup added on top.

When you have to move away from something as delicious as that, you look for a replacement.  Which is what my mom did.  I don’t know where she found the recipe, so I apologize for not giving credit to an originator on this.  It’s different from the pancakes we used to get at the restaurant, but just as delicious.  And so when my boyfriend requested breakfast this morning, I decided to bake them for him.  Happy Early Valentine’s Day!

German Apple Pancakes

4 Eggs
3/4 cup flour
3/4 cup milk
1/2 tsp salt

margarine or butter

2 medium apples, thin sliced

1/4 cup sugar
1 tsp cinnamon

1.  Heat oven to 400°F.  Place 2 round layer pans, 9 x 1/2 inch in oven

2.  Combine the eggs, flour, milk, and salt, and beat for 1 minute.

3.  Combine sugar and cinnamon in separate bowl.

4.  Remove pans from oven.  Place about a tablespoon of butter or margarine in each pan; rotate pans until margarine is melted and coats sides of pan.

5.  Arrange half of the apple slices in each pan; divide batter evenly between pans.  Sprinkle cinnamon+sugar mixture over batter in each pan.

6.  Bake uncovered until puffed and golden brown, 20-25 minutes.

We each get one whole pancake.  No syrup necessary 🙂


It's delicious!

This isn’t really the healthiest of recipes.  But my excuse is that there are apples in it:  healthy.  Also, you don’t make this every day.  It’s a special treat!

I have a friend that has been posting much more healthy recipes that she finds and creates at her blog.

Let’s just say that, for holidays, it’s okay to overindulge?  Last year I made these Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles for my boyfriend.  This year, he’s making them for me.  YES!

 

5 Responses to “Breakfast for my Valentine”

  1. Sarah Says:

    That looks delicious! I’m totally going to try these. Your picture makes it look so yummy! 🙂

  2. Eric Says:

    That looks awesome. What other breakfasty treats can you make??

    • Stephanie Says:

      I’ve been known to make a pretty good French Toast! And my roommate mentioned that you can make French Toast even better with a few drops of vanilla extract. It smells amazing!

  3. Julia Says:

    Oddly enough, I’ve never made German pancakes. I just checked the kitchen and I have all of the ingredients. As you eloquently said: “YES!”

  4. gem Says:

    Omg, The Original Pancake House is the same as Walker Bros! I always adored Walker Bros and didn’t realize that it was the same and now I do and now that I know there are ones in NJ, which is like super close to me, I’m totally going to go and holy cow my life just blew up with awesome right now.


Leave a Reply

