Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

8 Responses to “How I tricked myself into spending money”

  1. I do that too! 🙂 It’s known that in November and December, all the extended health places (like orthotics, dentists, optomotrists) are all super busy because everyone’s trying to use up their benefits.

    At my work, I get 80% reimbursed, so even though I’m spending money, it’s all preventative medicine, right? 🙂 I got some new glasses but I haven’t worn them yet! I still like my old glasses. I guess we’re all creatures of habit.

  2. Eric Says:

    I don’t think it’s ridiculous that this happened (maybee the total cost is a teensy bit excessive for your original budget). At least you got some nice product out of it! =P But it’s all a learning experience!

  3. SS4BC Says:

    BF and I were just talking about FSA and HSA accounts yesterday.

    He has the option of setting up an FSA with his pre-tax money like you have done. I have an HSA, my company gives me $118 every month to it for me to spend on health care expenses and it doesn’t expire.

    We pretty much determined that it was probably best to just put away what you KNOW you’ll use on health care every year (eye exam, dentist exam, contact prescription, 2 doctor copays) and that’s it.

    Because after that you don’t want to feel FORCED to “use it or lose it”. I would hate to get to the end of your year and HAVE to buy _something_ just because I’d already put the money into an account. Doesn’t really off set the tax break savings.

    • Stephanie Says:

      I think I need to get better at predicting what I’m going to spend. You’re right, it’s probably better to “run out” of money, than it is to have money left over that you HAVE to spend.

      Does your HSA come as part of a health insurance plan with a high deductible? I think the only ones where our company will contribute to an HSA is for the plan where you pay more of the health costs, which I guess encourages you to plan your health spending and shop around for a good deal on procedures and doctors.

  4. pennysbasket Says:

    I would never ever spend $600 (not even what you’ve spent!) on glasses but I did. Just a few weeks ago. And only because I had a good chunk left in my flex account. So went to a doctor and then to a local eye shop. They get their frames from Europe. I just couldn’t resist. 🙂 Oh well… I have very nice glasses now.

  5. I once put $300 in an FSA … and promptly lost it. I had intended to get an eye exam prior to the “use it or lose it” deadline, but when I called clinics, I couldn’t get an appointment … and a series of trips, coupled with a strict work schedule, meant that I just didn’t have the flexibility to get in an appointment at the right time.

    From that lesson, I decided to stop funding an FSA … now I have an HSA, which is NOT use-it-or-lose-it (any money that you don’t spend stays in the account and carries over to the next year. Once you’re 65, you can spend it freely as retirement savings.) It’s much more stress-free!

  6. Annelise Says:

    That’s so frustrating!

    I don’t have vision coverage under my student plan, so I have actually resorted to buying glasses online. I have one pair from China and one pair from Coastal Contacts that I got in one of their apparently frequent free glasses promotions. Warby Parker is also an increasingly popular option. So if you do want to minimize how much you spend out of your FSA, that’s one route to take!

    • Stephanie Says:

      In the future, I’m going to try to be a lot more conservative in what I put into my FSA. But thanks for the suggestions! I really should have just only gotten one pair of glasses, or bought extra contacts, or something else to just barely use up the FSA money than go way over and use a bunch of this year’s money. But lesson learned.


Leave a Reply

