Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

My Friends are Buying Houses Series July 30, 2011

So, my friends are buying houses.  I try not to let it get to me.

Instead, I’ve invited friends to write guest posts about their home buying experiences.  I wanted to get an idea of why they decided to buy a house, what steps they took, and how they’re enjoying home ownership so far.  I’ll also collect some posts (if I can) from people who are not buying houses just yet, just to get the other side of the story.

Why am I (attempting) to make a series of blog posts about this?  Mostly because what I know about the whole home buying process is about the same amount I know about rocket science (which is not really anything, even though I should learn about both!).  And so, while I wanted to write some posts with guidance on buying a place, I realized I have zero expertise and experience on the subject.  So, really, these posts are for both you and me!

So stay tuned.  Not sure how well this will work.  I’ve already got one friend ready with a guest post, but I’m not sure how many people who aren’t personal finance bloggers will want to write about personal finance!  Let me know if you’d like to write a post!

Homeowner posts:

Katelyn Buys a House

Renter posts:

Sarah and Michael are Happy to be Renting

 

 

5 Responses to “My Friends are Buying Houses Series”

  1. I look forward to reading this series! My friends are buying houses, too, and we’ve just started seriously saving for one. I’d love to learn what you learn. (And I’d be willing to do a post as well!)

  2. eemusings Says:

    This should be fun! If it was 8-10 years on, I’d be keen to write one too 😛

  3. I feel the exact same way. It seems like every time I turn around someone else I know is buying a home, having a baby, or getting married (and not necessarily in that order).

  4. Liquid Says:

    Interesting series idea. 🙂 I can share my experience buying a home in the most expensive city in North America. http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2013/02/06/vancouver-most-expensive-city-to-live-economist_n_2631806.html

    I’m interested to hear other people’s stories as well. 😀


Leave a Reply

