Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Excited about our new apartment! August 11, 2011

Filed under: Boston — Stephanie @ 10:47 pm
Tags: , ,

For those of you who missed my twitter announcement awhile back, I finally made a decision after hemming and hawing about whether we should stay where we are (and have lived for the past 5 years) or look for a new apartment.  Well, with the help of PadMapper (I seriously am a huge fan of that site) and a couple trips to apartments in Medford and Arlington, we found our place.  It’s pretty much exactly what we were looking for.  And it’s the right size for the two of us.  Not too big, not too small.  And it’s actually only a 2-mile walk away from our current place.  We’re moving from one end of Medford to the other!

So, with the knowledge I’ll be moving, comes other thoughts:  I want to buy things.  Yep.  I keep thinking about all the new furniture, accessories, linens that I could buy.  It doesn’t help that I just got the newest Crate and Barrel catalogue in the mail.  But I’m going to resist.  I know that we already have most of the furniture and accessories we’ll need.  We probably already have too much stuff.  I’ll hold off buying stuff until we realize we need them.  Just going to buy food and toilet paper!

And of course, we’ll need to figure out how/when we’re moving.  The current tennats of our future place will be out by August 15th, but the landlords want to clean it up and touch up the paint before we move in.  So we have a few more weekends we could do our packing/moving.  I still need to scrounge up a few boxes, figure out where to get a moving van (I’ve found a few discounts through AAA), and recruit a few friends to help pack and/or move.

So, who’s going to help us move?  😛  Or have any extra boxes they’d be willing to lend/give to me?

 

4 Responses to “Excited about our new apartment!”

  1. Julia Says:

    I’m happy to help you move, just let me know when and where! (I have never hired movers because I have always been able to wrangle friends into helping. Saves a ton of money!)

  2. Annelise Says:

    Oh man, I always hire movers. It is expensive, but well worth the cost!

    Shopping for new apartment things is so much fun! I love thrifting at the Rowley Antique Market and of course there is Brimfield in September. Every new place has unique challenges, so I’m sure your chance to shop will come soon.

    Good luck!

  3. Kristin Says:

    Wait until you get into the new place to shop. What you need for storage will be slightly different from what you had before, and it will take a few days to see how your new and different spaces will be best utilized. Once you’ve been living there a bit, you’ll have a better idea of what you need.

    • Stephanie Says:

      Don’t worry, I’m holding off on buying things! I think I’ll start making a list when we move in of both consumables (detergents, light bulbs, etc.) as well as furniture/storage/decorations. I already know a few things I’d like to pick up (like a curtain rod and curtain to go across the laundry/pantry doorway) but we will settle in and move stuff around for a bit before we do anything drastic 🙂


Leave a Reply

