Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

No-Spend November: Week 1 Recap November 8, 2011

Filed under: Personal Finance — Stephanie @ 8:10 pm
Tags: ,

So, many of you remember I decided to try a No-Spend November.  How did I do?

Tuesday Nov 1:   Success!  Brought my lunch, didn’t spend anything.

Wednesday Nov 2:  Success again!

Thursday Nov 3:  Super tempted by the chili they have every Thursday in the cafeteria.  But I resisted!

Friday Nov 4:  Stayed home sick, slept almost all day, so I didn’t even eat that much

Saturday Nov 5:  Got my haircut.  My last haircut was in June, my hair was just looking bad.  Yes, excuses.  $35 + $7 tip:  $42

Also on Saturday, I went with some friends to a wine tasting event at the Danforth Museum of Art.  Donation/ticket price:  $65.

Sunday Nov 6:  Went to work to make up some time from my Friday off.  Had to fuel up on the way home.  $37

Monday Nov 7:  Brought my lunch again.  Woooooo!  No spending.

So, the first 7 days, I’ve managed to avoid paying for lunches.  However, I have already spent $144 in these 7 days.  (not including online transfers like rent, utilities, and other bills).  Granted, I wont be buying more gas for 300-400 more miles, so while it’s a common (and pretty much unavoidable) expense, it won’t happen for a little while.  As for the Saturday expenses:  I could have gotten my haircut in October.  And I probably could have waited until December.  Or gotten a friend to cut it.  But I didn’t.  I found I had time that I could set aside for that, and took advantage of that time.  Plus I got in a really good walk to and from the hair salon!  As for the wine tasting, I had already given a maybe/yes to my friend coordinating it, and I felt bad backing out.  Plus I wanted to go 😛  Good news about those two expenses, though, is that they wont happen again this month!  (or probably for a while!)

I’m going to try to keep up the no-spending all month.  I might end up spending more money this month, but I’ll try my hardest not to!

So, how did you do so far?  What are your No-Spend November rules?  Do you have exceptions?  And maybe do we realize that I’m more or less just tracking expenses publicly while trying to build up the habit of packing my lunch each day?

 

2 Responses to “No-Spend November: Week 1 Recap”

  1. Michelle Says:

    We are terrible with no-spends. It’s pretty much impossible to have no-spend days between the two of us.

  2. MommaStar Says:

    Giving the no spend November a trial run for myself. I’m a spender by nature but not on purpose ;). Only exceptions for myself I would say is gas and groceries?


Leave a Reply

