Graduated Learning: Life after College

I got my degree, I got a job…now what?

Walk for Hunger: Because it’s not over yet April 9, 2015

Filed under: Boston,Fitness,Food — Stephanie @ 7:42 pm
Tags:

CIMG0259 In less than a month, I’ll be joining thousands of others in walking 20 miles throughout Boston and neighboring cities for Walk For Hunger.  The Walk for Hunger is an annual fundraising event run by Project Bread to raise money and awareness to combat hunger.

This will be my 4th year participating in the Walk For Hunger. I’m happy to say that for the past 3 years, I’ve raised more and more money each year. I passed $1k my first year, $2k my second year, and raised over $3k my third year. I’d LOVE if we could raise over $4k this year, but we’re still a ways away.  I believe in this cause, and I love that this program allows me to help people gain access to healthy, nutritious food.

So, again this year, I’m asking for your donations.  Any amount you contribute can help!

As in years past, my blogging friend Joe Taxpayer has put forth challenge funds. This year his challenge is the same as last year: When we raise $1k, he’ll contribute $500, and when we reach $2k, he’ll contribute another $500. It’s a great added incentive to get everyone to donate!

How can your contribution help?  Below are just a few examples:

$25 Provides a nourishing hot meal for 15 people at a community supper program
$50  Helps a low-income family purchase $100 worth of fresh produce at a farmers’ market through double value coupons
$100  Provides grocery gift cards to low-income seniors.

The good news is, any donation, big or small, helps get healthy, nutritious food to those in need!  Even $5 or $10 makes an impact!

And if you donate, you can see if your employer will match your contribution.

Also, if you’re local, you can also help out by volunteering, either before, during, or after the Walk!

Or join me in walking!  You don’t have to walk all 20 miles if that’s too intense for you!  You can sign up as an individual walker or join a team (look to see if your company has a team!)

If you have any questions about how you can help, let me know!

Thanks for all your support!

[Edit:  For those of you wondering, we didn’t hit $4k this year, but we did raise $3016!  Thanks for all your support!]

 

One Response to “Walk for Hunger: Because it’s not over yet”

  1. bain2014 Says:

    it is really important for those of us who always know we’re going to have dinner to think about hunger. If you’re like me, you’ve probably never actually had to go hungry. According to USA Today, 1 in 7 Americans relies on a food bank to have enough to eat. (See here: http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2014/08/17/hunger-study-food/14195585/ ) I live in a relatively affluent suburb that still has a very active food pantry.

    People who need food support might be receiving government benefits, but those benefits don’t begin to cover enough food to feed hungry children. Kids have the worst situation, as they cannot do anything immediate (like get a job) to help bring in more food. Worse, hunger hurts their education–study after study shows that hungry children do not do as well in school, have trouble focusing, etc.–which is supposed to be their main ticket to a better life.


Leave a Reply

