Graduated Learning: Life after College

Personal Finance, Parenting, and a dash of Science

I’ve been tagged June 30, 2008

Filed under: General Blogging — Stephanie @ 5:14 pm
Tags:

I have to admit, I haven’t really done these memes since my livejournal days, but I figured I’d oblige Mariel in response to her post.

1. What were you doing 10 years ago?
Well, let’s see.  that means, what was I doing when I was 13.  Is that middle school?  I think so.  Middle school I was spending plenty of time being awkward…I guess I must have been finishing up 8th grade around this time 10 years ago…so I was probably looking forward to band camp (yeah, I know, I’ve heard the jokes and ridicule) and looking forward to high school.

2. Five items on today’s “to do” list:
1.  Go sign the assignment of a patent document to my former company

2.  Go to the library to pick up some DVDs and books.

3.  Follow up with companies

4.  Clean up my room

5.  Bake cookies or make some other dessert

3. What snacks do you enjoy?

Fresh fruit, chocolate chip cookies, ice cream, pretzels

4. What would you do if you were a billionaire?

How did I become a billionaire?  Did I win the lottery?  Or have I been slowly building my fortune?  I’m assuming if I was slowly building it, I’d have already done many of the things I should do after winning the lottery…

So I’m thinking I’d have investment accounts to make sure I’m all set for retirement.  And make sure my family is all set for the rest of their lives.  And if I didn’t have kids (yet), I’d set aside money for them for college and beyond as well.  Once I’m sure that my investments are going to keep me comfortable for the rest of the foreseeable future, I’d be willing to donate money to assorted charities of interest.  Among them would be those for Alzheimer’s Disease research, Alternative Energy research, literacy promotion, and poverty assistance (both for local hungry as well as those in other countries who are even poorer than any of us could imagine).  I’d probably donate money for scholarships so students can go to schools that they otherwise couldn’t due to financial constraints.

5. Where would you live?

As a billionaire?  Hmmm, I’d still like to be in the Boston area…or travel to exotic locations and live there for a while.  But wherever my official house would be, it would probably be a combination of eco-friendly designs (solar cells, water collection, etc.) and utilization of older pieces, reusing pieces from older houses, thereby reducing the amount of waste that would occur (which is also eco-friendly, of course).  And I’m thinking I’d love to convert an old Victorian house with secret passageways and things of that nature to include the environmentally friendly upgrades.

Well, that’s it for the meme…and as the viral posts work, I get to name others to complete this survey…hmm.

I’ll tag:  Kendall, Money Maus, Mrs. Micah, and Penny.

Time to go inform them of their assignment.

 

2 Responses to “I’ve been tagged”


Leave a comment