Graduated Learning: Life after College

Personal Finance, Parenting, and a dash of Science

Wedding: Accomplished! July 24, 2014

Filed under: Boston,Food — Stephanie @ 11:01 pm
Tags: , ,

We did it!  We got married!

Kiss!(photo credit: my new mother-in-law)

For those of you who follow me on twitter, you may have seen how stressed out and panicked I was getting the closer we got to the wedding day.  I was waking up to stomach aches EVERY morning for months.  It was making me literally sick!  I had so many worries!  Would everyone have fun?  Would everything look right?  Will guests be offended if I don’t make this the most personalized unique magical affair ever?

Well, the good news is, our wedding was AWESOME.  All that worrying for nothing πŸ™‚

 

The Chapel!(Photo credit: Michael Cirelli Photography www.cirelliworks.com)

 

The ceremony was beautiful.  We got married at the MIT Chapel (where my parents were married back in the day!).  That place is really cool inside (see above picture).  My older sister sang all of the music (she’s an amazing singer) and I only cried a tiny bit during the ceremony, when she hit the high note of a beautiful rendition of the Lord’s Prayer.

 Bowling!(Photo credit: Michael Cirelli Photography www.cirelliworks.com)

 

The reception was at Sacco’s Bowl Haven and Flatbread Company (AKA Flatbread Somerville).  Yes.  Our wedding had candlepin bowling and flatbread pizzas.  Remember when I took my sister and brother-in-law to a bunch of our favorite local restaurants?  Well, Flatbreads is definitely one of our favorites, so when we inquired about hosting our reception there, and they said yes, we were overjoyed!

Besides the pizza and salads, we also had lots of delicious appetizers for the guests, and they could enjoy all of the tasty beers and cocktails that Flatbread offers.  And instead of a champagne toast (because, really, who needs a champagne toast?) we had a Bantam Cider toast!  Everyone got a champagne flute of Wunderkind to toast to us after my new brother-in-law gave a fun toast to us!

I loved how everyone at the reception interacted and met each other.  Our different friends from all different times in our life, our own extended families, all got to dance and bowl with each other!  So much fun!

 

The Cake!(Photo credit: Michael Cirelli Photography www.cirelliworks.com)

We cut the cake, but decided not shove it into each other’s faces.  It was still insanely delicious!  (in case you were wondering, it was carrot cake from Modern Pastry in Boston.  Also, we bought way too much.  We still have that entire 8″ diameter top piece sitting in our freezer!  And had most of the 8″ diameter remaining underneath that we had to eat post-wedding, too).

The whole time, we got so many compliments from friends.  We were told this was the most fun/best/awesomest wedding ever.  I’d like to think so πŸ™‚

After the reception was over, we headed back to the hotel to regroup, before we and a smaller group of guests went on a bar crawl.  Do you know how fun it is to go on a bar crawl in a wedding dress with your new husband?  It’s awesome.  Everyone congratulates you.  And you look super amazing.  We left the hotel bar, then  made stops at The Asgard, The Field, The People’s Republik, and ended the night at Dumpling House near Harvard Square.

It was a long day (setting my alarm before 6am, then my body deciding that 4:50am was a good time to wake up) but it was definitely one of the most fun and happy days of my life.  It was great to have all my family and friends there to share in our day, and I got to marry a pretty awesome guy.

So, what did I miss?  Any questions for this newly married lady?

For more photos, check out our photographer’s blog and website!

 

For those of you curious, here’s a list of the vendors we used to make our wedding a success.  We could have gone super DIY for this wedding, but I think all of these people were worth it!

Hair and Makeup:  My usual hairdresser from Mario’s Salon plus her two sisters (let me know if you want contact info for them)
Ceremony location:  MIT Chapel (must be MIT affiliate to use their chapel for weddings)
Transportation:  Shuttles from the MIT Parking office (for fellow MIT folks, they were the Saferide/Tech Shuttle buses!)
Reception (food and location):  Flatbread Company at Sacco’s Bowl Haven (AKA Flatbread Somerville)
Photographer:  Michael Cirelli Photography
DJ:  Chad Priest
Flowers:  Central Square Florist
Cake:  Modern Pastry
Invitations:  Digital rights to use Genevieve Santos“Clink” illustration and VistaPrint

 

 

7 Responses to “Wedding: Accomplished!”

  1. eemusings Says:

    Bowling! You guys are too cool

    Like

  2. Kristin Says:

    Ha I totally thought it was champagne. Guess I’m happy with the bubby stuff as long as it tastes good πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Congrats. I love your dress. So cute with the little blue bow. You looked lovely. I also LOVE the MIT venue. It is gorgeous.

    So… The only question remains is who won the bowling game? πŸ˜€

    Like

  4. addvodka Says:

    Awesome! Congratulations! I got married on July 19. I know what you mean about worrying, only to have an awesome wedding and no reason at all for the worries.

    Like

  5. hey!!! so was it YOU counting the steps to the altar when I was there shooting Eric/Mandy’s wedding ? hahah!! (from Offbeat Bride) – sooo glad it went well for you! Such a fun spot. πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Christina Says:

    Congratulations! This is such a cool idea. I think it’s really great that you guys did the reception at Flatbread. My sister used to work there and I am looking into doing the same thing! I have a couple questions for you if you don’t mind about the logistics of how everything worked out so I was wondering if we could chat. Do you mind telling me about how much everything cost? And how did you work in the dancing with the noise from bowling?

    Like

  7. […] really looked at much since saving recipes for our CSA fruits and vegetables, and then planning our wedding years […]

    Like


Leave a comment