Graduated Learning: Life after College

Personal Finance, Parenting, and a dash of Science

Shopping will be my undoing July 6, 2010

Filed under: Personal Finance — Stephanie @ 9:02 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

To be honest, I never really considered myself a “shopaholic” (what, am I addicted to shopahol?)  I hate going clothes shopping by myself.  I require others to tell me that a dress or top looks good, otherwise I wont buy them.  I can buy jeans and dress pants on my own, but still hate doing it.  And don’t get me started on bathing suit and bra shopping.  Not fun!

So, I don’t tend to go shopping too often.  I’ll only go to the store if I’ve got a “need” for something (new dress, new pair of dress pants, etc.), and usually try to take advantage of extra sales or coupons available.  I’ve gone shopping with my younger sister (and my younger sister + mom), and also often times go out with my good friend Melissa, who has a keen eye for fashion and what works on someone.  So she and I have gone to the outlets on sale weekends to update my wardrobe.  But on those weekends I end up spending $300 or more.

So, I don’t go shopping a lot, but when I do, I tend to go nuts.  Especially if I’m using my credit card.  I’d probably spend a lot less if I bought clothes with cash because a) it’s more painful to actually see your money go away, b) I wouldn’t want to bring too much cash with me when I’m out and about, and c) I like it better if I’m getting rewards (either from store cards or my rewards credit card).

My other shopping weakness is gifts.  While I know that cost of a gift is not representative of your love for or friendship with the receiver, I feel the need to buy the right gifts.  I’ve recently been a slacker when it comes to Birthday gifts (and some wedding gifts) and end up sending them late, but even then, I buy a lot.  Probably I spend even more because I feel a little guilty for sending gifts late.  I am a lot more likely to spend money on gifts for other people than on things I want for myself.  I rationalize spending on others readily.

The good news is that I tend not to get gifts for people unless there’s an associated event.  So, some months I spend a lot less (no birthdays/holidays).  Though I have bought things “just because”…so I should watch out for that.

Overall, I don’t spend a lot of money.  But excluding my necessary expenses (i.e. rent, utilities, loan payments, gas), my gift expenses tend to add up.

Do you have a shopping problem?  Do you store up your shopping until you can do it all at once, or do you buy the occasional item when necessary?  Any tips on reducing spending?

 

7 Responses to “Shopping will be my undoing”

  1. eemusings Says:

    Concerts are gonna be the death of me. I bought metallica tix for me and the boyf, i also bought another two earlier (crap seats) that i’ll sell once my passes arrive in the mail.

    also, i’m going to paramore (which at least was <$100) and bought two tix for friends (their birthday presents).

    i also considered going to bon jovi for a little while, but i'll never meet my savings goals at that rate!

    Like

  2. My weekness is DIY. and concerts and silky oak antiques (sounds more expensive than it is). I think I do better if i didn’t have the eBay application on my phone.

    I dislike the idea of gifts. Christmas is the worst you get stuck in this visious gift giving cycle where you have to buy so and so a gift because they did. And you end up equating money with love and… argh!! It’s infuriating

    Like

  3. Lesley Chow Says:

    What i try to do is avoid shops. I have a very bad habit of buying things i like, and when i get home i do not like it once i have tried it on. What I have recently started doing is by shopping online. There are some great websites out there and most of them are next day delivery. So even though I know I have a package coming, I still get really excited when i check the post.

    Like

  4. Kendall Says:

    Um … you should always buy gifts ‘Just because.’ I think people like those more than birthday/Christmas gifts!

    Like

  5. Elizabeth Says:

    Presents for other people are a weakness of mine, too. There are definitely months when I think, where the heck did all my money go. I try to track my spending as closely as possible, and use Mint.com and an old fangled spreadsheet for that. 🙂

    Like

  6. Jenna Says:

    I’m with you. I only go shopping when I need something that I’ve worn out, stained or torn. And chances are I won’t buy something unless I have a coupon for it or it’s already on sale.

    Like

  7. […] Filed under: Personal Finance — Stephanie @ 2:30 am Tags: sales, shopping As I’ve mentioned before, I tend to store up all my shopping until I find the right time to shop.  Either there’s […]

    Like


Leave a comment